español galego english

Tourism in Vilalba

Main Contact Web map

back Discover Vilalba  Cultural heritage  Popular architecture  

Mill at Rañego

Mill at Rañego

As a result of the agricultural tradition of the area, especially cereal crops, there are buildings of the popular culture such as the mill at Rañego, located on the banks of the river Ladra, which has recently been rebuilt, and the granary in Portocelo, located in the parish of Distriz.

The granary is newly built with a circular layout, wicker and plaited straw walls with a conicular roof of the same material.

It was built with the aim of paying homage to the baskets which were used in bygone times in the area.

The Vilalba Stone Crosses

Lanzán stone crossed

Lanzán stone crossed (Tardade)

Popular culture and the skilled craftsmanship of the stonemasons of the area meant that Vilalba has been left with an extensive trail of stone crosses on the roads and church premises of the region.

The most unique of these can be found in Lanzán, located in the parish of Tardade, as it is one of the most decorated stone crosses in Galicia. Carved from granite in 1906, it has several figures at its base including Saint James the Moorslayer and San Roque.. The post, featuring elements from the Passion, has a figure of the Ecce Homo at its base. At the head are images surrounding the crucifixion of Christ and at the top there is a set of figures from the descent from the cross.

In the centre of Vilalba the stone cross of the Four Roads can be found. This is a granite cross which is honoured every year with the “Fiesta del Cristo”, a celebration where it is decorated with flowers by the people of the region. It dates back to 1874 and features the figure of Christ on the front and Our Lady of Sorrows on the back.

The rest of the stone crosses can be found scattered around the different parish churches and crossroads in Vilalba, such as Nete, Codesido, Gondaísque, Santaballa, Xoibán and San Simón. This last one is particularly worth visiting as it is one of the oldest in the area, dating back to 1793, as recorded in its inscription. At the base there are some very eye-catching images such as the altar, innkeeper and coffins. In the past it was used for the celebration of mass outside.

 
Consellería de Innovación e Industria Icon of Level Double-A Conformance to Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0 of the W3C-WAI

Tourist Information Office - turismo@vilalba.org RSS
Domingo Goás St. - Vilalba (Lugo 27800)
Tel.: +34 982 511 383